Book reviews - Dizzy Me

Go to content

Send us your book review.  Once approved your review will be published on this page.
==================================

17 comments


1 2
Daniëlle
2019-07-22 10:26:56
Dear Tania

Thank you for this great book !
It helped is a lot to onderstand what vestibular illness means and contains .


Lieve Tania
Dankjewel voor dit prachtige boek !! Het heeft ons onwijs geholpen om te begrijpen wat evenwichtsziektes doen en inhouden .

Liefs Daniëlle
Ellen Raessens
2019-07-21 19:21:24
A very valuable book for physiotherapists and other physicians who work with patients suffering from dizziness. The story of Tania in her dizzy world, the overview of the ‘So Stoned Principle’ and the explanation of different diagnoses helps to guide people with dizziness symptoms.
Maurice Harder
2019-02-06 11:36:06
Jouw boek is een verrijking voor de studenten die de minor orofaciale fysiotherapie (Hogeschool Rotterdam afdeling fysiotherapie) volgen. Jouw verhaal boeit studenten tot de laatste letter en geeft ze inzicht in hoe mensen duizeligheid ervaren. Dit is zeer waardevol voor als zij dalijk de fysiotherapie praktijk ingaan. Daarnaast geeft het de studenten een zeer goed inzicht in de wetenschappelijke onderbouwing voor hun fysiotherapeutisch handelen.
2018-11-08 21:39:23
The book exactly represent the devastating drawbacks of misdiagnosed vestibular disorders such as BPPV . I will recommend the book to the largest professional vestibular community on Facebook (Audiology-vestibular science forum group) with its 18 000 members
Julien De Landsheer
2018-09-26 14:15:46
Het begon zowat 3 jaar geleden: evenwichtsproblemen. Ik zocht koortsachtig naar een uitweg. Toen las ik in "Plus Magazine" iets over "Dizzy Me". Eindelijk eens contact met geestesgenoten.Een buitengewone aanrader voor iemand die zoekt in het duister.
Bedankt voor de (wetenschappelijke) uitleg. Je was meerdere keren mijn toevlucht. JDL
Bart Zwaneveld
2018-09-25 08:00:20
Dizzy me is a good overview and combination on personal and scientific expertise. As a professional treating patients suffering from dizziness/balance disorders this is a must read!
Petra Keppel
2018-05-30 20:56:09
Ik heb van februari 2008 tot september 2009 heftige drasiduizeligheid aanvallen gehad die wekenlang aanhielden.
Ik heb in 2001 een whiplash en gebroken stuit opgelopen tgv een keiharde val steil achterover. Ook geopereerd aan mijn stuit. En een chronische whiplash en chronische stuitbeperking aan overgehouden. De artsen dachten dat ik weer een whiplash had.
Ik heb constant gezegd dat het iets anders was.
Neuroloog, DBC behandel traject vanuit arbo arts.
Huisarts nam me niet serieus.
De aanvallen kwamen steeds vaker terug, wel 6 keer per jaar 6 wekenlang.
Overleven, je kunt niets.
Kotsmisselijk en je hoofd zo stil mogelijk houden.
Angststoornis tgv de heftige draaiduizeligheid.
Ik draaide letterlijk in een wasmachine rond op volle toeren.
Via Tania Stadsbader ben ik uiteindelijk in het duizeligheidscentrum in Apeldoorn gekanteld dmv de Epley Manoeuvre. En meerdere onderzoeken. Diagnose BPPD.
Ik sta als lotgenoot in het boek van Tania-Dizzy me. Leven met evenwichtsstoornissen.
Ik heb nog vaak last met draaien van mijn hoofd, snelle hoofd bewegingen maken, omhoog kijken. Vaak licht duizelig. Liggen in bed op mijn rechterzij en plat is niet fijn.
Overprikkeling voorkomen.

Het blijft een zwart gat in mijn leven.
Fijn dat het boek er is.
Want er is nog veel onbegrip bij artsen er.
Het boek Wankele Wilma heb ik ook.
Duidelijk en helder beschreven.

Petra Keppel
Richard Brinkman
2016-02-01 10:21:44
Must have voor patiënt en arts.
Het boek "Dizzy Me, licht op evenwicht" geschreven door Tania Stadsbader en prof. dr. Floris Wuyts is een verademing om te lezen.Ik worstel vanaf 2011 met een evenwichtsstoornis waarvan de diagnose nog onduidelijk is. Met het lezen van dit boek komen er herkenbare onderwerpen aan de orde die mij aan het denken heeft gezet. Ook had ik gerichte vragen aan de KNO-arts.Het boek is een naslagwerk voor zowel de patiënt als de arts. Binnenkort verschijnt de Engelse versie van dit boek. Ik hoop dat het een bijdrage gaat leveren in de medische wereld en dat bij vele patiënten tijdig de juiste diagnose wordt gesteld.

Richard Brinkman
Josiane Massagé
2016-01-18 20:06:42
Een exclusief boek dat een verrijking is voor de medische wereld. Dokters, kinesisten, therapeuten en patiënten maken kennis met een duidelijke beschrijving over de verschillende ziektebeelden die ervaren worden in verband met evenwichtsstoornissen. De ex-patiënte en auteur Tania Stadsbader en co-auteur Prof. Floris Wuyts hebben hun kennis samengebundeld in ‘Dizzy Me III’ dat nu ook in het Engels zal verschijnen. Het boek leest vlot met de inhoud van een dagboek die een vleugje humor meekreeg en vele ondersteunende wetenschappelijke onderzoeken. Door het boek ‘Dizzy Me’ ben ik ook deze mensen, die met duizeligheden moeten leven beter gaan begrijpen. Een boek dat in ieders bibliotheek thuishoort.
Kristel Clément
2016-01-17 13:44:41
Ik noem mezelf een "gelegenheidsdizzy" met maar een paar aanvallen per jaar. Toen ik Tania als ex-klasgenote in een magazine zag staan met haar boek "Dizzy me", was mijn interesse dan ook dubbel gewekt. Mijn nieuwsgierigheid werd beloond: dankzij Dizzy Me II kwam er duidelijkheid in mijn duizeligheid en ik vond nuttige tips om een volgende aanval rustig door te komen. Verademend hoe een ingewikkelde materie op patiëntenniveau wordt uitgelegd.
Meike van de Beek
2016-01-16 20:07:32
Ik ben een van de weinige patienten die binnen 3 maanden een volledige en juiste diagnose heeft gekregen.Ik ben ook een van de weinige meniere / vestubilaire migraine/hyperaccusis patient die zo snel schade op liep binnen 5 maanden.
Gelukkig is mede Verony Manders (lotgenoot) inmiddels weer wat meer mogelijk.
Dat ik een uitzondering ben en het geluk gehad heb zo snel te weten waar ik aan toe was blijkt wel uit het boek Dizzy Me.
Ik wist al veel maar door het boek Dizzy Me is het plaatje compleet.
Het boek is confrontrerend voor als je net ziek bent maar je leert ook zoveel bij en is zo volledig.
Zeker ook een aanrader voor partners,vrienden,en niet te vergeten kno en neuroloog.
1 2
Meet our translator


Book reviews

"This book is unique.  It highlights the patient experience and presents current medical insight into the workings of the vestibular system.  It reveals how radically a balance disorder can impact a patient's daily life, and also shows how challenging it can be to diagnose and understand disruptions of the vestibular system.  Dizzy Me brings patients, scientists and ENT doctors together.  As a professor of ear, nose and throat illnesses with significant interest in hearing and balance disorders, I'm very pleased to see this book, with its 'well balanced' approach."

Professor Paul Van de Heyning, ENT doctor, Belgium


"A colleague recommended this book to me.  I'm a doctor, and I've been wrestling for 13 years with my own vestibular issues and their effect on my quality of life, my environment, and my work.  The search for proper diagnosis and effective treatment can be frustrating.  I recommend Dizzy Me to patients, therapists and doctors who want greater insight into the challenges of living with a vestibular disorder."

David De Keukeleire, MD, Belgium


"Dizziness is scary but not such a terrible thing.  That's the way it generally looks to outsiders.  For those who are subject to regular attacks, though, it can be a torment.  Dizzy Me brings personal experience and scientific expertise together in a single volume.  Tania Stadsbader's story is compelling, and Floris Wuyts adds invaluable scientific knowledge."

Marleen Finoulst, editor-in-chief of BodyTalk, Belgium


"With its striking and completely original style, Dizzy Me captures the physical and emotional pain of an incorrectly diagnosed BPPV patient.  The concept of painting a complete picture of an illness by combining a patient's detailed autobiographical history (the questions) with the most up-to-date medical insights (the answers) works extraordinarily well, making this volume required reading for anyone who is interested in balance disorders."

Kris De Bolle, reader, Belgium


"This is a remarkable book.  The section written by a patient impresses the scientist with its accuracy, while the vestibular expert's contribution will add significantly to a hobbyist's knowledge.  Dizzy Me brings patients and scientists together.  As a doctor with 30 years' experience treating vertigo and great interest in therapeutic possibilities for those with compromised oculo-vestibular systems and visual vertigo, I'm looking forward eagerly to the English edition of the book.  It will acquaint people around the world with a more 'balanced' approach to the vestibular system."

Dr. Eric Vente, Utermohlen Foundation, The Netherlands


"I read this attractive and clearly written book with great interest.  It's helped me to better understand the world in which our daughter Willemijn unfortunately lives.  I recommend it to doctors, patients, and especially to those with personal connections to the afflicted."

Menno De Vries, father of a patient and Dizzy Me Magic Investor, The Netherlands


"This book gives me - an 87-year-old mother - hope and peace.  Until now, all I could do was look on as the doctors failed to understand what was happening to my daughter.  This went on for 40 years, and produced major negative consequences in her life.  Perhaps the knowledge contained in Dizzy Me will help keep others in the future from suffering a similar fate.  If only doctors continue to learn...."

Miep Hermans - Van Helden, mother of a patient and Dizzy Me Magic Investor, The Netherlands


"What may appear at first glance as yet another patient's autobiographical rendering of personal anecdotes and misdiagnosis is in fact a fascinating and often witty recollection of a real determination and struggle; to be acknowledged, to be taken seriously, to be cured! The balance between the diary-like storytelling and the scientific elaboration of professor Floris Wuyts on canal plugging and topics related to the subject of vertigo will no doubt bring hope and new insight to a lot of people."

Françoise Druguet, reader, Belgium

“Good training in balance conditions is essential to ensure appropriate and timely treatment for each individual patient. This book will help further the understanding of these conditions for patients and professionals alike.”

Polly Moyer, e-patient campaigning for MdDS UK

“This is a tremendous compendium on the topic. A must for patients, doctors, therapists and everyone who needs in-depth information.”

Roel Bruylandt, kinesthesiologist Belgium
Back to content